Over fifteen Mississauga Arts Council member artists and groups celebrated at The Credits!

November 3, 2023 by Sabrina Cunha, Multimedia Designer, MAC.

A ballroom at Mississauga Grant Banquet Hall was filled with exceptional Mississauga talents on November 2, 2023, all gathered to honour the 2023 winners of The Credits awards. 

The Credits is Heritage Mississauga’s annual award show honouring “Heritage Heroes” – individuals and groups who have made remarkable achievements in local arts, culture, and heritage initiatives. Mississauga Arts Council (MAC) saw over fifteen of its artist members, groups, and friends recognized for their contributions to Mississauga’s heritage. 

The President’s Award was awarded to Laurie Pallett, founding Executive Director of the Mississauga Arts Council where she served as an outstanding leader for 18 years. The Chairman’s Award was given to Dr. Colin Saldanha, a pioneer for MAC’s Arts for Mental Health Conference held in 2021.

Andrew Da Camara accepted the Heritage Legacy Award on behalf of the Portuguese Cultural Centre of Mississauga for winning a Guinness World Record for the longest and largest recorded “Vira” dance. He also received the Modern Heritage Award for his advocacy and organization of the record-breaking dance.

Century AV, led by Colin Tyler, received the Heritage Business Leader Award, presented to an individual or business that has shown commitment to leadership in furthering heritage values.

The Community Heritage Award, presented to those who have preserved and engaged the community in celebration of Mississauga heritage, was awarded to Mississauga Music Walk of Fame and author Zohra Zoberi.

MAC members Elizabeth Banfalvi (Mississauga Writers Group), Demetrius Nath (Mississauga Music), Lynn Taylor, and the Tim Hortons Southside Shuffle Blues and Jazz Festival, including MAC’s Interim President Ron Duquette, were all awarded the Cultural Heritage Award, presented by MAC Treasurer Charles Chu. Ron also won Best Costume of the night.

Last but not least, Carla Gonzalez-Casanova, Susan Ksiezopolski, Mary Ellen Koroscil of Courtney Park Writer’s Group, and Glenn Pringle of City Centre Music Productions (CCMP) all received the Volunteer Heritage Award for their 10+ years of volunteer work and community leadership.

MAC would like to congratulate all the award recipients. It was a delightful night of community kindness in action.

You can learn more about Heritage Mississauga and The Credits at https://heritagemississauga.com/the-credits/